On Friday 12 June 2020, the Kingdom of Eswatini represented by H.E. Ambassador Sibusisiwe Mngomezulu, as a member of the OACPS signed the Revised Georgetown Agreement.

The Georgetown Agreement created in 1975, is the Constitutive Act of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) which aims to ensure sustainable development and poverty reduction within the ACP Member States.  

On 9 December 2019 the 9th Summit of ACP Heads of State and Government adopted the Revised Georgetown Agreement, which inter alia changed the organization from the ACP Group of States to the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (OACPS). The number of themes addressed has been expanded to address global challenges and issues such as the environment and climate change and peace and security.

The Revised Georgetown Agreement came into force on 5 April 2020, when it attained the requisite one-third (1/3) of Member States signatures. The Kingdom of Eswatini is the thirty-ninth (39th) of the seventy-nine OACPS Member States to sign the Revised Georgetown Agreement.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *